Perhaps my maternal grandmother brought this creepy doll back with her from a journey across the seas on the S.S. Nieuw Amsterdam during the 30’s or 40’s.  The jollyboy Sailor doll, created by Norah Wellings, was available as a souvenir on the ocean liner owned by the Holland America Line.

Sailor doll souvenir from the 30’s or 40’s S.S. Nieuw Amsterdam ocean liner

When I visited Kathleen in Maine, I saw the same doll on a shelf in her house.  When I asked her about it, she told me her family originally had two, but one was lost.  Most likely, the one we found in my father’s attic is the missing doll, though we have no idea how it ended up there.  I wonder how many other dolls sleepwalk.  Perhaps that’s what happened to Nicole and Alexis’s dolls, Petra and Prendergast.

Sketchbook Drawing: Family Treasures No. 33, Creepy Sailor Doll – drwn first with Vintage Sheaffer Fountain Pen filled with Noodler’s black ink, followed by watercolor washes.

