Today was my day to gallery sit at Venue Two of the 6th Annual Naked in New Hope Exhibition.

‘Big Blue Butt’ is in good company

In spite of a fairly constant flow of gallery visitors, I was able to bind my latest sketchbook.

Handmade Sketchbook with Coptic Binding 8.5″ wide, 5.25″ high, 1.5″ thick

I used linen thread that I waxed with a bar of bees wax.  There are twenty five signatures made up of a variety of papers including recycled file folders.

“Daily Joy” by Betty Jacobsen from her Strip Poker Series
Glass Jars and Poker Cards

The file folders are excellent for ink and watercolor, similar to working on smooth Bristol Board or a hot press watercolor paper.

Popcorn Cart viewed through the gallery window

I was sitting in the New Hope Arts Center Gallery.  Venue One is next door at Sidetracks Gallery.  Venue Three is a mile up the road at The Lodge.  This is part of the view through the New Hope Arts Center window.

Sketchbook Drawings: Drawn first with fountain pen followed by watercolor using a waterbrush on file folder paper

