Painting the landscape as it passed by at 65 mph reminded me that I could use more practice painting strictly from memory.

9 am looking East from the side yard.

After glancing at this view (not studying it carefully) I turned my back and attempted to paint an impression of what I remembered.  For me, this uses an entirely different section of my brain.  It is not an eye / hand coordination process nor is it a process in which the painting develops in its own direction with each mark.  It feels disjointed and awkward. Of course ….. that means I need to do it more often until it feels comfortable, until I feel the creative juices flowing during the process.

For this painting I lay down colors in watercolor.  The shapes and colors appeared lifeless.  When a painting is lifeless, I resort to splatters to bring energy onto the paper.  When that fails, I resort to my fountain pen to redefine something …. anything.  When that fails, I take what I’ve learned and move on, knowing I’m one step closer to a more exciting and more successful painting from memory.

