As I carried my backpack and suitcase to the car last Thursday morning, the light of my flashlight was not aimed at the dining table where the watercolor travel kits, replenished with fresh paint, and travel brushes lay ready to be packed.  They are still on the table ready to be packed.  Fortunately, I had several tubes of paint packed for teaching the workshops.

Pill Box Watercolor Palette

For $1.67 I picked up a pill box organizer at a local drug store in Mountain View.  I used the hinged caps and the spare well for a bit of mixing.  It’s not the best, but it works.

Cloud Pruned Juniper Tree

My day was spent drawing and painting the cloud pruned Juniper trees near Hangar One at Moffett Field.

Taking a break from reality

It’s difficult to be serious when looking at such Seuss-like trees.

Cloud Pruned Juniper Tree

Sketchbook drawings:  Drawn en plein air first with fountain pen filled with Noodler’s Black Ink, followed by watercolor using a small waterbrush.  BFK Rives paper

