During the late 70’s while attending Massachusetts College, I lived with a wonderful family.  though I wasn’t officially their Nanny, I bonded with Jacob, Matt and Suzie, three unbelievable young children who  captured my heart.  I gave Mike a break and ventured on my own to reconnect with Suzie, Matt and San Francisco.  Last time I was in SF I was fourteen years old, stringing glass beads (I still have them) and going to The Fillmore West to see Chuck Berry (just released from jail) and Jefferson Airplane.

A block from the Cal Train station I found the Zeum Carousel.

Zeum Carousel, San Francisco

Two rides for $3.00.  I couldn’t resist.

Outdoor Shower

After walking to golden Gate Park, drawing and painting along the way, and visiting Loved to Death, I headed to Suzie’s for a fabulous evening of reconnecting and meeting the next generation.  A shower outdoors, in the middle of San Francisco, began my next day, a day of drawing in ink in the rain……

A ride on Suzie’s slide will have to wait for my next trip. I’m packing a sheet of wax paper.

The day ended with a night at the aquarium (California Academy of Science) topped off an incredible two days.  The sea horses are beyond description….. drawings to follow ……

As a thank you, I left a morning painting on Suzie’s table…

Suzie’s Kitchen

I hope to return in January to teach a few more Color Scheme Game Workshops and to play with the bizarre perspective of the streets.

Image:  Suzie’s Kitchen – drawn first with fountain pen followed by watercolor.

