Winter is settling in and I’m spending too much time at the computer working on the new website, coordinating workshops and drinking hot liquids.

A painting once again in progress 30″ x 40″ oil

I have several solo exhibits scheduled in 2013.  At least one of them is focused on the power of art as a healing force.  The spaces are large and the opportunity to create a new body of large scale work thrills me.  Sorting through my inventory of oil paintings was a perfect shift away from computer work.  Nine paintings will be getting a new coat of paint.  As an artist, I’ve grown considerably since these paintings were originally resolved.  I can now take them further.

After several hours of mixing, brushing and rubbing to lighten, brighten and breathe new life into the one pictured above, I returned to my computer with a fresh mind and a lighter heart.  The painting was originally extremely dark.  It’s one of the first in a series of work created in 2003 as the result of a personal healing experience.

Oil on canvas, 30″ x 40″

