The rubber cement has turned the paper brown and released its hold on many of the ruined drawings.  I created this book and the assignments in this book, believing that anyone can learn to draw if the desire to learn the skill is strong enough.  The smiles on my students’ faces, as well as their sketchbook drawings at the end of the semester, proved me right.

Two stroke Compositions

Two stroke Compositions

 

Positive reinforcement and encouragement goes a long way.  Homework assignments spilled out upon desks at each class.  Long after I had stopped teaching, my students phoned to tell me of the latest awards they won and exhibits they were juried into.  Many of these students were not born with the talent to draw.  They worked hard, drew constantly and reaped the rewards.  Over the years, I loaned this book to friends and private students.  It’s age  and use are showing. I regret using rubber cement to hold it all together.

While cleaning my studio to make room for a new body of work, the lesson plan book ended up on the pile of items to discard.  Before turning the lights out I grabbed the book from the pile and decided to present the lessons one last time.  Over the next couple of months I’ll post the exercises on my new Website Blog, a blog focused on tools and techniques of drawing and painting.  The more information I can post online, the less I have to carry with me when I travel to teach workshops.

1979-Lesson-Plan-sketchbook-drawing-classes-chris-carter-artist-web

I make much nicer sketchbook covers these days…….

