On beautiful, summer days I’ve buried myself in the basement studio.   Ahhhh!  I dream of the day that I will once again have a studio above ground, northern light and windows everywhere!  I will not have to worry about spiders laying eggs, birds dropping on the canvases, mice crawling over waxed watercolors.  I will need to live to the ripe old age of 150!

Orbs-21-abstract-watercolor-chris-carter-artist-072913-web

Orbs. No. 21, 22″ x 30″ watercolor

What a whirlwind it has been for the last month and a half (or so).  With the help of a friend from long, long ago, I am on a roll with the orb series.  In four days i switch gears, pack up my car for camping and plein air painting in Vermont.  I can leave the driveway with an open heart and open mind.  I already have enough new paintings completed and framed for the “Healing Arts” solo exhibit to be hung in October!  My travel/workshop schedule is so crazy between now and hanging time that I was in a panic.  Thanks to P I’m in great shape.  one can never lose faith in old friends.

Painting:  Orbs. No. 21. Abstract watercolor, Orbs Series, 22″ x 30″ framed to 30″ x 40″. Layers created using junk as templaates and a mouth atomizer, among other odd techniques.  I’ll be teaching these techniques in Pennsylvania (August), California (September), as well as New Jersey and Maryland (October)  check my website for schedules …. www.chrisCarterArt.com

